Skip to main content

About Dale Krane

Dr. Dale Krane joined the University of Nebraska at Omaha in 1988, was the Frederick W. Kayser Chair Professor for the UNO School of Public Administration from 2007 to 2013, and retired as Professor Emeritus in 2014. He has been a Fulbright Professor in 1985 at the Federal University of Minas Gerias, Brazil, and in 2011 at the Federal University of Bahia, Brazil. While at UNO Dr. Krane has served as an adjunct or visiting professor at other academic institutions including the University of Oklahoma, Jackson State University, the University of Illinois at Springfield, and most recently at the Getulio Vargas Foundation in Sao Paulo, Brazil. Prior to coming to UNO, he was an associate professor at the University of North Texas and Mississippi State University. Dr. Krane earned his B.A. and M.A. in Government from Indiana University and his Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of Minnesota.
Professor Krane has directed grant projects funded by the U.S. Department of Education, the U.S. Geological Survey, the U.S. Information Agency, the Fund for the Improvement of Post-Secondary Education, the Japan Foundation, the Nebraska Commission on Local Government Restructuring and Innovation, the Nebraska Department of Economic Development, and the Nebraska Department of Social Services. Dr. Krane was on the editorial boards of Public Administration Review, the Journal of Public Affairs Education, the Journal of Public Management and Social Policy, and the Review of Policy Research.


Present American Political Science Association, Organizations & Affiliations
Present American Society for Public Administration, Organizations & Affiliations
Present Policy Studies Organization, Organizations & Affiliations
Present Professor Emeritus, University of Nebraska at Omaha
Present Public Management Research Association, Organizations & Affiliations

Curriculum Vitae

Enter a valid date range.

Enter a valid date range.

Honors and Awards

  • Fulbright Research Professor in Public Administration, Federal University of Bahia, Salvador, Brazil, 2011
  • Frederick W. Kayser Chair Professor, 2007-2013
  • UNO Award for Distinguished Research or Creative Activity, 2006
  • Donald C. Stone Service to the American Society for Public Administration Award, 2002
  • Jeffrey Pressman Award for the Best article in Policy Studies Review, 1998
  • Donald C. Stone Award for Outstanding Research in Intergovernmental Relations, Section on Intergovernmental Administration and Management, American Society for Public Administration
  • Fulbright Professor in Public Policy, Federal University of Minas Gerais, Belo Horizonte, Brazil, 1985
  • Pi Sigma Alpha Award for the Best Paper delivered at the 1980 annual meeting of the Southern Political Science Association
  • Danforth Foundation Associate for Instructional Excellence, 1979-1986


  • Policy Design and Implementation
  • Policy Evaluation
  • Intergovernmental Management
  • Theories of the Policy Process
  • The Environment of Public Administration

Contact Information

Omaha, NE 68182
(402) 554-2625


Articles (26)