Skip to main content
Popular Press
Securing the future of the microstates of Oceania
South Asia Analysis Group (2011)
  • Vikas Kumar

Oceania consists of two large states (Australia and Papua New Guinea), a medium-sized state (New Zealand), a small state (Fiji), ten micro-states (Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Samoa, the Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu), and a number of dependencies (Cook Islands, Niue, etc). Threatened by geographic and demographic factors, the sovereignty of Oceania’s microstates has been precarious from their inception.

Publication Date
May 31, 2011
Citation Information
Vikas Kumar. "Securing the future of the microstates of Oceania" South Asia Analysis Group Iss. Paper 4518 (2011)
Available at: