Skip to main content
Contribution to Book
The INACSL Standards of Best Practice
Defining Excellence in Simulation Programs (2015)
  • Suzan E. Kardong-Edgren, Boise State University
  • Teri Boese, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
  • Valerie M. Howard

Standards are created by experts within a discipline and reflect best practice. The International Association for Clinical Simulation and Learning (INACSL) developed the first set of published Standards for Best Practice: Simulation in 2011, and added guidelines in 2013. The INACSL Standards serve as a framework for providing simulation-based educational experiences within healthcare, and can be applied to multiple professions and settings. This chapter provides an overview of the comprehensive development process and summary of the seven INACSL Standards, with examples for their use within healthcare education and training. Utilizing the INACSL Standards in any setting creates a standardized foundation on which to build simulation-based educational experiences and demonstrates adherence to best practices for internal and external stakeholders.

Publication Date
Janice C. Palaganas, Juli C. Maxworthy, Chad A. Epps, and Mary E. Mancini
Wolters Kluwer
Citation Information
Suzan E. Kardong-Edgren, Teri Boese and Valerie M. Howard. "The INACSL Standards of Best Practice" PhiladelphiaDefining Excellence in Simulation Programs (2015)
Available at: