Skip to main content

About Savvas A. Katsikides

Dr. Katsikides, (1953), has studied Social/Economic Sciences and Sociology at the Johannes Kepler University of Linz, Austria. He served as Assistant and Lecturer at the University of Technology in Vienna (TU), Austria (1988-1995). He has also held visiting professorships at Leeds Metropolitan University (PRU, UK, 1994-1995), Central Connecticut State University (Dept. of Sociology, USA, 1995), the University of Piraeus (ERASMUS, Greece), the University of Muenster (Germany, 2003/2004), & the Danube University of Krems (Austria, 2003) and Vienna University of Technology (2002). He lectured at the University of Technology (TEPAK), Limassol, Cyprus, University of Crete, GR.
From 1995 to 1998 has served as Assistant Professor at the University of Cyprus, 1998-2007 Associate Professor of Sociology and since 2007 Professor of Sociology. Elected President of the Cyprus Sociological Association. (2009-2010)
His research interests are in the areas of European industrial sociology, sociology of work, sociology of technology, organisational and sociological theory and European Economic and Social Integration. He has served as president of the European Community Studies Association – Cyprus (ECSA – Cyprus), Vice-President of the European Association of Telematic Applications, and Vice President of the Scientific Committee for Prevention of Drugs of the Anti-Drugs Council of the Republic of Cyprus (2001-2005). He is also a member of the permanent Bioethics Committee of the Republic of Cyprus (2002-2006) and it’s Vice President 2005-2006. In 2004 has been awarded the Jean Monnet Chair in European Economic Integration (Social Europe), (2004-2007). Since 2010 he is Director of the Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence at the University of Cyprus.
His past appointments include the positions of Deputy Dean of the Humanities and Social Sciences Faculty at the University of Cyprus and of the Chair of the Department of Social and Political Sciences and Member of the University Council (2005-2008).


Present Professor, University of Cyprus