Skip to main content

About Richard L. Aynes

Professor Richard L. Aynes earned Bachelor and Juris Doctor degrees from Miami University and Cleveland-Marshall College of Law before joining The University of Akron School of Law in 1976 as coordinator of the Appellate Review Office and a lecturer. He was Associate Dean from 1984 – 1993 and has held the rank of Professor since 1986. He served as UA’s interim athletics director in 1993-94 and returned to Akron Law where he held the John F. Seiberling Chair of Constitutional Law for the balance of 1994. Professor Aynes was appointed Dean of Akron Law in 1995, a position he held through 2007. In spring 2008 he returned to the faculty as holder the John F. Seiberling Chair of Law and Director of the Constitutional Law Center. His research and teaching interests include constitutional law, the 14th Amendment and legal history. He has written numerous articles in the area of Constitutional Law including articles published in the Yale Law Journal, the Journal of Southern Legal History, the Chicago Kent Law Review and the Catholic University Law Review. Professor Aynes has been admitted to the bar for the U.S. Supreme Court, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit and U.S. District Court for Northern Ohio. Among his current and past memberships are the American Bar Association, Ohio State Bar Association, Akron Bar Association, Western Reserve Legal Services (Board of Trustees), ABA Special Committee of Evaluation of Judicial Performance (reporter), and consultant to the ABA Victim's Committee, Ohio Supreme Court Racial Fairness Implementation Committee, Ohio Supreme Court Continuing Legal Education Committee and Scanlon Inn of Court.


Present Emeritus Dean and Professor of Law, The University of Akron School of Law
2007 - 2015 John F. Seiberling Chair of Law, The University of Akron School of Law
1998 - 2007 Research Fellow, Constitutional Law, The University of Akron School of Law

Curriculum Vitae



Research Interests

Enter a valid date range.

Enter a valid date range.

Honors and Awards

  • 1985 Outstanding Professor of the Year


  • Constitutional Law
  • Legal History

Contact Information


Articles (25)