Skip to main content
Book
The Whites of Their Eyes: Bunker Hill, the First American Army, and the Emergence of George Washington
Books Authored by Wright State Faculty/Staff
  • Paul D. Lockhart, Wright State University - Main Campus
Document Type
Book
Description
Drawing upon new research and scholarship, historian Paul Lockhart, author of the critically acclaimed Revolutionary War biography The Drillmaster of Valley Forge, offers a penetrating reassessment of the first major engagement of the American Revolution. In the tradition of David McCullough’s 1776, Lockhart illuminates the Battle of Bunker Hill as a crucial event in the creation of an American identity, dexterously interweaving the story of this pivotal pitched battle with two other momentous narratives: the creation of America’s first army, and the rise of the man who led it, George Washington.
Publication Date
1-1-2011
Find in a Library
Catalog Record
Publisher
Harper
Keywords
  • Battle of Bunker Hill,
  • Continental Army,
  • George Washington--1732-1799
Citation Information
Paul D. Lockhart. The Whites of Their Eyes: Bunker Hill, the First American Army, and the Emergence of George Washington. New York(2011)
Available at: http://works.bepress.com/paul_lockhart/9/