Skip to main content
Contribution to Book
Education law in Australia
Yearbook of Education Law (2011)
  • Joan M Squelch, The University of Notre Dame Australia
In writing a chapter on education law in Australia, it is useful to start
with a snapshot of the Australian legal system. In 1901, the Commonwealth
of Australia was established as a federation under the Australia Constitution

Act 1900 (‘the Constitution’). The mainland of Australia is made up of six

States and two self-governing Territories.1 The States are New South Wales,
Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia; and
the Territories are the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.2
Together with the Commonwealth, there are nine jurisdictions.
Publication Date
Charles J. Russo
Education Law Association
Citation Information
Squelch, J. (2011). Education law in Australia. In Russo, C. (ed).Yearbook of Education Law. Education Law Association: Dayton, OH, p. 279-286