Skip to main content

About Jennifer Ross

Professor Jennifer Ross received her bachelor's degree in physics and mathematics from Wellesley College in 2000. She went on to graduate school at the University of California, Santa Barbara where she worked on the biophysics of microtubules.
After completing her doctoral work in 2004, Dr. Ross joined the labs of Yale Goldman and Erika Holzbaur at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine to pioneer single molecule work on the motor protein cytoplasmic dynein.


Present Associate Professor, Physics Department, University of Massachusetts Amherst


Enter a valid date range.

Enter a valid date range.

Honors and Awards

  • 2014 INSPIRE Award, National Science Foundation
  • 2013 Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award, Biophysical Society
  • 2011 Cottrell Scholars Award, Research Corporation for Science Advancement
  • 2009 Basil O’Connor Starter Award, March of Dimes Foundation
  • 2009 Armstrong Fund for Science Award, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • 2005 Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award, National Institutes of Health
  • 2004 USCB Affiliates Barbara S. Uehling Graduate Dissertation Fellowship (declined)
  • 2001 Ferrando-Fithian Award for Outstanding Woman in Physics, UCSB
  • 2000 Graduate Assistance in the Areas of National Need (GAANN) Fellowship, UCSB
  • 2000 Phyllis Flemming Physics Prize for Outstanding Physics Major, Wellesley College
  • 1999 Jerome A. Schiff Fellowship for Thesis Work, Wellesley College
  • 1999 Massachusetts Space Grant Consortium Thesis Fellowship

Contact Information

302 Hasbrouck Laboratory
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst Ma, 01003


No Subject Area (12)