Skip to main content

About Jeffrey A. Bates, R.Ph., Pharm.D.

As Associate Dean of the School of Pharmacy, Dr. Bates helps to ensure that students achieve the highest levels of success, both in their pharmacy studies as well as in their subsequent careers. His role guides future pharmacists from the early stages of recruitment all the way through fostered involvement as alumni. Prior to joining Cedarville, Dr. Bates served at Ferris State University’s College of Pharmacy as Assistant Dean and Director of Student Success. While at Ferris, he founded a pharmacy care clinic in 2013. Located inside Ferris’ College of Pharmacy, students regularly honed their clinical skills, assuring comprehensive care to underserved patients in and around Mecosta County. He also shared clinical responsibilities in an Interdisciplinary Diabetes Clinic, facilitating experiential and inter-professional learning for pharmacy, optometry, and nursing students. Most of his classroom energies have centered on teaching Clinical Communication Skills, Self-Care and Over-the-Counter Medication Therapeutics, Care of Geriatric Patients, Practice Skills, and Academic Pharmacy. Dr. Bates is privileged to have received more than $130,000 in grants and has been an invited lecturer many times on both state and national platforms. Further, he has helped lead a number of nonprofit organizations, serving on the Board of Directors for the Michigan Pharmacists Association, Hope House Free Medical Clinic, as well as for Cran Hill Ministries. 


Present Associate Dean of Pharmacy Practice, Cedarville University School of Pharmacy
Present Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Cedarville University School of Pharmacy

Enter a valid date range.

Enter a valid date range.

Honors and Awards

  • Preceptor of the Year, Ferris State University - 2003
  • Executive Board Service Award, Michigan Pharmacists Association - 2005
  • Hall of Honor, Michigan Pharmacists Association - 2005
  • Chairman of the Board Service Award, Consultant Pharmacist Society of Michigan - 2005 & 2011
  • Honorary Member, Golden Key International Honour Society - 2008
  • Building Michigan's Healthcare Workforce Award, The Michigan Health Council - 2012
  • Pharmacist of the Year, Consultant Pharmacist Society of Michigan - 2013
  • Honorary Member, Pharmacy Leadership Society - 2015
  • Fellow, Michigan Pharmacists Association - 2016


B.S., Ferris State University
A.S., Ferris State University
Pharm.D., Ferris State University

Contact Information

Cedarville University
School of Pharmacy
HSC 238B


Publications (4)

Grants (3)

Conference Presentations (11)

Local Presentations (4)

Podcasts (1)