Skip to main content
Contribution to Book
World Bank
Encyclopedia of Geography
  • Francis Owusu, Iowa State University
Document Type
Book Chapter
Publication Version
Published Version
Publication Date

The World Bank (often called simply “the Bank”) is one of the Bretton Woods institutions, including the International Monetary Fund (IMF), that have their roots in the post-World War II meeting of eminent economists in Bretton Woods (New Hampshire) to discuss the rebuilding of Europe. While the Bank was to provide longer-term funds for investment in productive endeavors, the IMF was to provide short-term balance-of-payments relief.

What is often referred to as the World Bank is part of the World Bank Group, which is made up of the following five development institutions: (1) International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD), (2) International Development Association (IDA), (3) International Finance Corporation (IFC), (4) Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA), and (5) International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID).


This book chapter is published as Owusu, F., World Bank in Encyclopedia of Geography, edited by Barney Warf; 2010. DOI: 10.4135/9781412939591.n1256. Posted with permission.

Copyright Owner
Sage Publication, Inc.
File Format
Citation Information
Francis Owusu. "World Bank" Encyclopedia of Geography (2010)
Available at: