University of Texas at El Paso

From the SelectedWorks of Elisa Fraser Wilson

November, 2008

Contemporary Voices: Scenes from Modern Opera and Musical Theatre

Elisa Fraser Wilson, University of Texas at El Paso



The University of Texas at El Paso

Department of Music

Music Theatre Company

presents

Contemporary Voices

With scenes from modern Opera and Musical Theatre

Fox Fine Arts Recital Hall
Friday November 14th, 2008 7:30 p.m.
Sunday November 16th, 2008 2:30 p.m.

ActI

Prelude from *Trouble in Tahiti* by Leonard Bernstein

Samantha Morales, Alex Herrera, Kyle Roper

A Little Priest from Sweeney Todd By Stephen Sondheim

Veronica Torres, Stephen Jackson

A Streetcar Named Desire: Act II, Scene 2 by André Previn

Mary Haddad, Troy Taylor

Prelude, cont. from *Trouble in Tahiti* by Leonard Bernstein

Samantha Morales, Alex Herrera, Kyle Roper

The Old Maid and the Thief: Scene I by Gian Carlo Menotti

Olivia Douglas, Davida Washer

Home/My Mother Bore Me from *Phantom!* by Maury Yeston

Christie Murphy, Luis Orozco

Gordo's Law of Genetics from A New Brain by William Finn

Andrew Braid, Helena Ip, Irena Quijas, Megan Hanner, Joseph Quintana, Emmanuel Muñoz

Movin' Too Fast from The Last Five Years by Jason Robert Brown

Andrew Braid

The Ballad of Baby Doe by Douglas Moore

Stephen Jackson, Isabel Velazquez, Sharon Kim, Juan Navarro, Bernny Apodaca, Dolores Fuentes, Laura Sanchez, Company Mary Haddad, Director

INTERMISSION

Act II

What a Movie from *Trouble in Tahiti* by Leonard Bernstein

Isabel Velasquez, Tahiti Trio

Interlude from Trouble in Tahiti by Leonard Bernstein

Samantha Morales, Alex Herrera, Kyle Roper

The Rake's Progress by Igor Stravinsky

Helena Ip, Joseph Quintana

The Seagull: Act II, scene I by Thomas Pasatieri

Samantha Morales, Jennifer Castro, Irena Quijas, John David Guevarra Mary Haddad, Director

Cellblock Tango from Chicago by Kander and Ebb

Olivia Douglas, Nicole Smith, Kelly Morris, Christie Murphy, Veronica Torres, Mary Haddad Emmanuel Muñoz, Gabriel Sanchez

Sunset Boulevard from Sunset Boulevard by Andrew Lloyd Webber

Kyle Roper

Once On This Island by Ahrens and Flaherty

Sharon Kim, Olivia Douglas, Elisa Gomez, Lee Peterson, Ediel Ortiz, Andrew Braid, Nicole Smith, Samantha Morales, Luis Orozco, Kelly Morris, Company

Seasons of Love from Rent by Jonathan Larson

Christie Murphy, Troy Taylor, Company

Production Staff

Director Dr. Elisa Fraser Wilson

Assistant Director Mary Haddad

Accompanist/Coach Patricia Ann Provencio

Rehearsal Accompanist/Coaches Dr. Ezekiel Meza, Helena Ip

Choreography Dr. Wilson, Emmanuel Muñoz, Gabriel Sanchez, Rick S. Rodriguez

> Set Design and Lighting Adrian Marquez

Lighting Crew Kyle Roper, Jorge Muñoz

Tech Crew Manager/ Light Board Operator Rick S. Rodriguez

> Spot Operators Ana Silva, Eric Gonzales

Props and Costume Design Aracelia Perez

> Make-up Cat Peña

Sound Technicians Hector Olea, James Cordova, Matt Madrid

> Music Theatre Assistant Samantha Morales

> > Stage Manager Laura Sambrano

Music Theatre Company Fall 2008

Bernny Apodaca Andrew Braid Jennifer Castro Olivia Douglas **Dolores Fuentes** Elisa Gomez John David Guevara Mary Haddad Megan Hanner Alexandro Herrera Helena Ip Stephen Jackson Sharon Kim Alexis Montoya Samantha Morales **Kelly Morris Emmanuel Muñoz** Christie Murphy Juan Navarro Luis Orozco **Ediel Ortiz** Lee Peterson Irena Quijas Joseph Quintana Denice Rivera Kyle B. Roper Gabriel Sanchez Laura Sanchez Nicole Smith Troy Taylor Veronica Torres Daisy Vazquez Isabel Velazquez Davida Washer

Upcoming Vocal Events

UTEP Holiday Concert: University Choirs and Wind Symphony Tuesday December 2, 2008 7:30 p.m.

Music Theatre Company
Death by Aria
Friday December 12, 2008 10:30 a.m.

Acknowledgements

UTEP Voice Faculty
Dr. Don Wilkinson, Steve Haddad,
Department of Music
Hideaki Tsutsui, Ross Fleming, Crystal Herman,
Department of Theatre and Dance
Beverly Kerbs-Ward, Jaime Barba,
Union Dinner Theatre
Mike Spence, Fernie Mabini, Special Events

University of Texas at El Paso Department of Music Friends of the Department

The Huthsteiner Fine Arts Trust

Endowed Faculty

The Abraham Chavez, Jr. Professorship in Music

Endowments

Dr. E.A Thormodsgaard Vocal Music Fund
Julie Dittmer Hart Endowed Fund for Music
Michael Salzman Excellence Endowment in
Piano Performance
Ruby V. Burns Endowed Fund for Music
Schillinger Rho Sigma Tau Endowed Music Gift
Fund

Endowed Scholarships

Emil Jay Dittmer Memorial Scholarship
Hannah Atkin Spitz Memorial Endowed
Scholarship
John and Vida White Endowment Fund
Laura Beard and Sarah Reiser Memorial
Endowed Scholarship
Martha M. McDonald/Rainbo Baking
Scholarship

Phoebe and Reuben Mutnick Scholarship Reverend Charles C.G. Manker Memorial Fund Roderick Memorial Endowed Scholarship William K. Hill Endowed Scholarship for Music

Annual Scholarships

Dorrance D. Roderick Music Scholarship
John Herbert Shanblum Scholarship for Fine Arts
Hervey Foundation Scholarships
Lanward Foundation Scholarship for Music
Marguerite Loya Pearson Scholarship for Music
Marian Meaker Apteckar Fund for Piano
Studies

Music Department Scholarship
Particia Hewitt Silence Memorial Trust
Presser Scholar Award
The Marlene and J.O Stewart, Jr. Foundation
Scholarship