Skip to main content
Other
Joanna Brooks, American Lazarus: Religion and the Rise of African and Native American Literatures
English
  • Eileen Elrod, Santa Clara University
Document Type
Book Review
Publication Date
1-1-2005
Publisher
MIT Press
Abstract
One might imagine Joanna Brooks's American Lazarus: Religion and the Rise of African-American and Native American Literatures in the tradition of Jones and Allen's historical record straightening. Her detailed, lucidly presented narrative of contexts, communities, and texts (including that of Jones and Allen) is notable not only for its thorough explication of
Comments
Copyright © 2005 MIT Press. Reprinted with permission by MIT Press. http://www.mitpressjournals.org/loi/tneq
Citation Information
Elrod, Eileen. Review: Joanna Brooks, American Lazarus: Religion and the Rise of African and Native American Literatures. New England Quarterly 78 (2005): 486-88.