Skip to main content

About Deborah Simpson, PhD

Dr. Simpson is a graduate of the University of California at Santa Barbara (BA – American History and Cultural Anthropology), the Ohio State University (MA – Student Personnel Work in Higher Education) and the University of Minnesota (PhD – Educational Psychology). She is a Deputy Editor for the Journal of Graduate Medical Education and on the board for the Alliance of Independent Academic Medical Centers and is member of the ACGME Task Force on Physician Well-Being. Her more than 700 invited/peer reviewed presentations and 185 invited/peer reviewed publications in medical education reflect her primary interests clinical teaching effectiveness, faculty development and vitality for clinician educators, documenting faculty contributions in education consistent with criteria for educational scholarship and workplace learning across the continuum of physician education and interprofessional education aligning with clinical care markers for quality patient experience, and provider well -being to support the highest quality of education and patient care.


2016 - Present Non-Faculty Academic Position, NBME U - Advisory Board ‐ National Board of Medical Examiners
2014 - Present Faculty Member, Journal of Graduate Medical Education ‐ Deputy Editor
2014 - Present Non-Academic Position, Alliance of Independent Academic Medical Centers ‐ Member, Board of Directors
December 2012 - Present Medical Education Program Director, Advocate Aurora Health

Enter a valid date range.

Enter a valid date range.

Honors and Awards

  • April 2016 Innovation Award - Aurora Health Care - Team Member from the Alliance for Independent Academic Medical Center.
  • Nov 2007 Merrel Flair Award in Medical Education from the AAMC Group on Educational Affairs
  • May 2005 McCann Faculty Scholar - 1 of 4 faculty selected from nursing, science, and medicine for outstanding mentoring by the Joy McCann Foundation
  • May 2001 Medical College of Wisconsin Distinguished Service Award Recipient [One of three awarded per year by nomination of faculty and selection of the Dean. First woman faculty member to receive award in MCW history]
  • April 1999 Education Laureate - AAMC Central Group on Educational Affairs

Contact Information



Abstract (1)

Articles (54)