Skip to main content

About Darby Dickerson

Darby Dickerson became Dean and Professor of Law at The John Marshall Law School in December 2016. In 2016, she was named one of the “most influential people in legal education” by National Jurist.

From July 2011 until December 2016, she served as Dean and the W. Frank Newton Professor of Law at Texas Tech University School of Law. Before that, she served as Interim Dean and Dean at Stetson University College of Law in Florida from 2003–2011. She started her full-time academic career at Stetson, joining the faculty in 1995.

A nationally known leader in legal education, Dickerson serves on the Executive Committee of the Association of American Law Schools and is also a Past Chair of several AALS sections, including the Deans Section and the Section on Institutional Advancement. She is an elected member of the American Law Institute, a Sustaining Life Fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation, and Immediate Past President of Scribes—The American Society of Legal Writers. She is active in the American Inns of Court, having been part of three Inns: The Mac Taylor Inn in Dallas, the Ferguson-White Inn of Court in Tampa (where she served on the Executive Board and as President), and the Texas Tech University School of Law Inn of Court in Lubbock (where she was a founding member and on the executive committee). She has also been active in bar activities at the local, state, and national level.

Dickerson received her B.A. and M.A. from the College of William & Mary, and her J.D. from Vanderbilt University Law School. Following law school, she clerked for the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit and then practiced commercial litigation with firm now known as Locke Lord in Dallas, Texas. In 1995, she was named both Outstanding Young Lawyer in Dallas and Outstanding Director of the Texas Young Lawyers Association. In January 2013, she was the inaugural recipient of the Darby Dickerson Award for Revolutionary Change in Legal Writing, named by the Association of Legal Writing Directors to honor her contributions to legal writing. She has also received a variety of awards for her professional, charitable, and community service.


2016 Present Dean, John Marshall Law School
2016 Present Professor, John Marshall Law School

Curriculum Vitae

Enter a valid date range.

Enter a valid date range.

Honors and Awards

  • 2018 AALS Section Award for the Legal Writing, Reasoning and Research Section

Articles (25)

Contributions to Books (3)

Forthcoming and Prepublication Works (1)

Reprints (1)