Skip to main content
J. P. Sousa Vol 15 (The Band Came Back)
  • Dan Rager
1 Prince Charming – March (1928) 3:41 2 Across the Danube – March (1877) 2:25 3 The Band Came Back (arr. Dan Rager) (1895/1926)* 13:35 4 Magna Charta – March (1927) 2:34 5 Chris and the Wonderful Lamp – Electric Ballet from Act II (1899)* 3:36 6 Legionnaires – March (1930) 2:51 7 Chopin arr. Sousa: Nocturne No. 11 (1838)* 6:43 8 Volunteers – March (1918) 3:23 9 Désirée – Selections (1884/1894)* 8:46 0 Pet of the Petticoats – March (1883) 1:57 ! Gliding Girl – Tango (1912) 3:32 @ Ben Bolt – March (1883) 2:51 # Yorktown Centennial – March (1881) 3:22

The Band Came Back: This work has not been performed in a century by any group because the music to perform it did not exist. This combined version (Sousa/Clarke) has been marvelously scored by Dan Rager and is available ONLY from him at:
Performance notes, first and last page of the score can be viewed by downloading the file below.
  • Sousa,
  • The Band Came Back,
  • Wind Music,
  • Dan Rager,
  • J. P. Sousa,
  • Sousa Vol. 15,
  • Band Music,
  • Keith Brion
Publication Date
The Band Came Back: For lack of a better description, this music was billed as a “fantastic episode.” To catch the audience by surprise it was always programmed by Sousa as the first piece after an intermission. The house lights were turned off, revealing an empty stage. Slowly and deliberately, the musicians entered, playing singly, in pairs, trios or quartets. Each played some popular tune upon entering, sometimes with an accompaniment provided by musicians already onstage. Only after all of his players had entered and were seated did Sousa make his appearance, conducting only the last note. Although the piece was somewhat further revised in 1919 with a new title, Showing Off Before Company, it was always a continuous work in progress and could change from performance to performance, year after year. This version is based on a 1920s arrangement by Sousa’s cornet soloist, arranger and assistant conductor Herbert L. Clarke, and Sousa’s 1895 original edition. Combined and arranged by Dan Rager, this thrilling work will keep your audience on the edge of their seats.
Citation Information
Dan Rager. "J. P. Sousa Vol 15 (The Band Came Back)" (2015)
Available at: