Skip to main content
Seven infinitely short periods of (winter) time
  • Bruno Ruviaro, Santa Clara University
Document Type
Publication Date
The piece “Seven infinitely short periods of (Winter) time” was composed in 2002 during my first Winter in the United States. It was my first Winter with snow (lots of snow, by the way; I was living in New Hampshire). The experience of below-freezing temperatures was something completely unfamiliar to me, accustomed as I was to the other side of the thermometer, the “above-melting” temperatures from Brazil. The names for each of the movements are merely insinuated on the score (they appear at the end of the last page of each movement: Musification, Old Tune, Basement, Wilting, What??, Snow Down, Final Basement). These names reflect to some extent the original connection of each piece with a place, a situation, a musical process, present or past.

Piano, Bb clarinet and violin. [ca. 12’00]

Premiered by the Left Coast Chamber Ensemble: Phyllis Kamrin (violin), Bruce Foster (clarinet), Eric Zivian (piano), Mill Valley, October 25, 2007. Winner of the Left Coast Chamber Ensemble Composition Contest 2007.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

Citation Information
Bruno Ruviaro. "Seven infinitely short periods of (winter) time" (2002)
Available at: