Other «Previous Next»

Recurrences, for saxophone quartet

Randall Snyder, University of Nebraska - Lincoln


This piece was conceived, in part, from a novel by Kim Stanley Robinson, “The Years of Rice and Salt”, an alternative history scf-fi novel that traced several reincarnations of characters, each succeeding life following similar yet slightly different trajectories. “Recurrences” consists of six sections, each approximately 1:30 (each section ending with a fermata blank measure). Each subsequent section is transposed and modified about 20%, with increasing rhythmic activity. Hopefully, key sonic landmarks that keep returning, albeit modified each time, as well as the overall evolution of the piece, will prove an interesting experience for the listener.

Suggested Citation

Randall Snyder. "Recurrences, for saxophone quartet" 2012
Available at: http://works.bepress.com/randall_snyder/184

Included in

Music Commons